Who Created Modern Atomic Theory?


Jane Flores

Atomic theory is the foundation of modern chemistry. The idea that all matter is made up of tiny particles called atoms has been around for centuries, but it wasn’t until the 20th century that the modern atomic theory took shape.

So, who created modern atomic theory? Let’s find out.

John Dalton

John Dalton was an English chemist and physicist who lived from 1766 to 1844. He is considered by many to be the father of modern atomic theory.

Dalton proposed that all matter is made up of tiny, indivisible particles called atoms. He also suggested that each element has its own unique type of atom.

Dalton’s atomic theory had five main points:

  • All matter is made up of atoms.
  • Atoms cannot be created or destroyed.
  • All atoms of a given element are identical in mass and properties.
  • Compounds are formed when atoms of different elements combine in fixed ratios.
  • Chemical reactions involve the rearrangement of atoms.

J.J. Thomson

J. Thomson was a British physicist who lived from 1856 to 1940. He is best known for his discovery of the electron, which he identified as a subatomic particle with a negative charge.

Thomson’s work on cathode rays led him to propose his famous “plum pudding” model of the atom, which suggested that electrons were embedded in a positively charged sphere.

Ernest Rutherford

Ernest Rutherford was a New Zealand-born British physicist who lived from 1871 to 1937. He is best known for his work on nuclear physics and his discovery of the nucleus.

Rutherford’s famous gold foil experiment demonstrated that atoms have a small, dense nucleus at their center. He also discovered that the nucleus contains positively charged particles called protons.

Niels Bohr

Niels Bohr was a Danish physicist who lived from 1885 to 1962. He is best known for his work on atomic structure and quantum mechanics.

Bohr’s atomic model proposed that electrons orbit the nucleus in specific energy levels. He also suggested that electrons can jump between these energy levels by absorbing or emitting photons.


In conclusion, modern atomic theory has been shaped by the work of many scientists over the centuries. John Dalton laid the groundwork with his proposal that all matter is made up of atoms, while J. Thomson, Ernest Rutherford, and Niels Bohr built upon Dalton’s ideas with their own groundbreaking discoveries about the nature of atoms and subatomic particles.

Their contributions have led to our current understanding of atomic structure and have paved the way for advancements in fields such as nuclear physics, chemistry, and materials science.