What Are the Types of Phenomenology?


Vincent White

Phenomenology is a philosophical theory that studies the structure of subjective human experiences. It aims to describe and understand these experiences in detail, without any preconceived notions or assumptions.

This approach has led to various types of phenomenology, each with its own unique focus and methodology. In this article, we will explore some of the most prominent types of phenomenology.

1. Transcendental Phenomenology:
This type of phenomenology was developed by Edmund Husserl, who believed that consciousness is the foundation of all knowledge.

According to him, all experiences are intentional – that is, they are directed towards some object or idea – and can be analyzed through a process called “bracketing.” Bracketing involves setting aside any assumptions about the object being studied and focusing solely on its subjective experience. Through this method, transcendental phenomenologists aim to uncover the underlying structures of consciousness and the ways in which they shape our perception of the world.

2. Existential Phenomenology:
This type of phenomenology was developed by Jean-Paul Sartre and Martin Heidegger, who focused on the individual’s experience of existence itself.

They believed that existence is inherently ambiguous and that individuals must create their own meaning in life. Existential phenomenologists study how individuals relate to their own existence, as well as how they interact with others and with society as a whole.

3. Hermeneutic Phenomenology:
This type of phenomenology was developed by Hans-Georg Gadamer, who believed that understanding is always interpretive – that is, it requires us to make sense of information based on our pre-existing knowledge and beliefs. Hermeneutic phenomenologists study how individuals interpret their experiences and how these interpretations shape their understanding of themselves and the world around them.

Related Read: What is Phenomenology and Its Applications in Business

4. Genetic Phenomenology:
This type of phenomenology was developed by Maurice Merleau-Ponty, who believed that consciousness is embodied – that is, our experiences are shaped by our physical bodies and the environments we inhabit. Genetic phenomenologists study how individuals’ experiences are shaped by their physical and social environments, as well as how these experiences change over time.

5. Critical Phenomenology:
This type of phenomenology was developed by Jürgen Habermas, who believed that knowledge is always situated within a particular socio-political context. Critical phenomenologists study how power structures shape individuals’ experiences and how these structures can be challenged or transformed through collective action.

In conclusion, phenomenology is a rich and complex field of study that offers various approaches to understanding subjective human experiences. Each type of phenomenology has its own unique focus and methodology but they all share a commitment to describing experiences in detail while avoiding preconceived notions or assumptions. By studying these different types of phenomenology, we can gain a deeper understanding of ourselves and the world around us.