Learning modes in music theory can be a daunting task, especially if you’re a beginner. But don’t worry, with the right approach and a bit of practice, it can be quite easy.

What Are Modes?

Modes are scales that have been used in music for centuries. They are derived from the major scale and have a unique sound and feel to them. There are seven modes in total, each with its own set of intervals and characteristics.

Here’s A List Of The Seven Modes:

How To Learn Modes?

The best way to learn modes is to start with the major scale. Once you have a good understanding of the major scale, it becomes much easier to understand how modes work.

Step-By-Step Guide To Learning Modes:

  1. Start by playing the C major scale on your instrument.
  2. Now play the D Dorian mode over the C major chord.
  3. Play the E Phrygian mode over the C major chord.
  4. Then play the F Lydian mode over the C major chord.
  5. The G Mixolydian mode over the C major chord.
  6. The A Aeolian mode over the C major chord.
  7. The B Locrian mode over the C major chord.

It’s important to note that all of these modes use only the notes of the C major scale. However, each mode has its own unique sound and feel because of the way in which the notes are arranged.

Tips For Practicing Modes:


Learning modes can be challenging but with practice and patience, it becomes much easier. Start by understanding the major scale, then move on to learning each mode individually. With time, you’ll be able to incorporate modes into your playing and create unique sounds that will set you apart from other musicians.